Week 0

There is a big range of interests and experience amongst the participants of ocTEL2014 and that the challenge for the course is to cater for all those different experiences and preferences.
I think that these groups are a great way to help us focus on our particular interests rather. I expect the seminars to be quite general to give us a starting point to talk about the topic under the light of our particular interests.
I also like the fact that the different perspectives make me think of topics that I had never considered before.
The third question is: “In what ways is a MOOC like this one well or poorly suited to these challenges?”
I’m not sure what they mean by a MOOC “like this”. This is my first MOOC so I have nothing to compare with but I think a MOOC is a good place to meet people from all over the world, with different experiences and skills.

Badges:

ENGAGEMENT ONLINE: This is one topic that I had never seriously considered and taking part of this MOOC makes me realise how important it is for online students! Of course engagement is the first stage of any learning experience and it’s the first thing I plan for my classes. However, I now realise that the very basic act of going to the physical place where the class is taking place and sharing that physical environment with the rest of the class has a big part in that engagement!

And thinking of my own experience in this MOOC, the badges that are helping me get started with each of the activities that I need to complete. and once I get them they give me a sense of accomplishment!

Deja un comentario